Ditch the diet books!

New Year, New You!

 With the New Year comes a load of new resolutions to lose weight, join the gym and change your life.

There’s something about the start of January that makes a fair chunk of the population decide to transform their bodies, however many tend to go about it completely the wrong way. Armed with a book about the latest fad diets, and the exercise DVD of yet another ‘celebrity’ who has miraculously shed three stone, they’re convinced that this too will be the year when they get the body they’ve been dreaming of.

Which diet should you choose?!
Which diet should you choose?!

I too have set goals to improve my body, lose weight and get fitter this year. However there is one key thing I am also aiming to be, and that is healthier. Many fad diets may help you lose weight, however for many, they aren’t healthy. Diets where you eat two sugary bowls of cereal a day, cut out entire food groups, count calories obsessively and barely eat are not healthy, and they are definitely not sustainable. Ditch the diet books, and get some common sense – with a balanced diet packed with fruit and vegetables, plus some exercise you will be able to get healthy, lose weight, and most importantly – keep it off.

In the past I succumbed to the seductive charms of diet crazes that promised to help me drop a dress size in two weeks, or lose ten pounds in ten days. However these did not help me, and just left me increasingly frustrated. It was only when I became ill a couple of years ago and had to completely change my diet, cutting out some of my favourite foods (bye, bye Cathedral City), that I realised just how fundamental nutrition is to good health. The old adage is true, you are what you eat.

Hopefully through this blog I will be able to share what I have learned with you and help people, including myself, recognise the importance of nutrition. Please come back for detox tips, recipes, product reviews, eating yourself beautiful and information on special dietary requirements including food intolerances/allergies, candida, diabetes, ME, Crohns, Coeliac disease and more.

Leave a Reply

