Oatly Oat Milk

Oatly Oat Milk

Oatly Oat MilkAs I mentioned in my last post, I’m currently on the lookout for soy and dairy milk alternatives in a bid to reduce my soy consumption. First on the agenda – Oatly Oat Milk.

The benefits are that it is rich in fibre and beta glucan, a cholesterol reducing nutrient, it is unsweetened, and at around £1.49 per litre it is an affordable alternative to soya milk.

I used this in place of my normal soya milk for a few days in my tea, coffee and porridge and found that it is a good substitute to milk. It’s a lot more watery than regular milk so can make drinks look stronger than they actually are, but works well with porridge (oats overload) and cereals.

It’s unsweetened so if you’re used to drinking regular dairy milk or sweetened soya milk you may find it a little plain to begin with – it’s definitely not the sort of milk I imagine drinking on its own but other people may disagree.

The one issue I did have with this oat milk was when I made coffee it seemed to settle a little, and not properly mix in with the drink. This leads to a slightly weird looking drink with the milk seemingly separated from the coffee water. However  it didn’t make any difference to the taste.

Overall I’d say it’s a good alternative to soy milk and does seem to be quite widely available so will probably be my new go to drink if there is nothing else available.

Oatly oat milk is available in many Tesco supermarkets and health food stores.

Have you ever tried oat milk? What are your favourite dairy and soy substitutes?

3 thoughts on “Oatly Oat Milk

Leave a Reply

