Kara coconut milk

Kara Coconut Milk

In my bid to find a sKara coconut milkoy and dairy milk alternative I next tried Kara Coconut Milk, and I have to say I think I’ve found a winner.

This tasty natural, unprocessed milk has a creamier consistency more similar to cow’s milk that works really well in hot drinks and porridge, the main uses I have for milk. Unlike oat milk, this is something that I could imagine I would enjoy drinking on its own occasionally, or adding to smoothies and milkshakes.

Of course, along with the taste comes a whole host of health benefits. While some may shun coconuts due to their high fat content, this is mainly medium-chain fatty acids that are beneficial to digestion and help with the treatment of Candida Albicans. While there are only 1.2g of MCFAs in 100ml, this is still a good way of introducing medium-chain fatty acids into the diet.

Coconut milk is suitable for vegans, vegetarians and coeliacs and is suitable for lactose intolerant and anyone with a soya intolerance.

I found my coconut milk at Holland and Barrett, and thus far haven’t been able to discover it in any of my local supermarkets, so I think it’s something I may have to stock up on every couple of weeks – it’s long life so it isn’t unfeasible. At £1.65 for a litre it’s a little more expensive than the £1.30 you can expect to pay for Alpro Soya milk in many supermarkets, but still affordable and worth it if you want to avoid soy or dairy.

 Have you ever tried coconut milk? Do you have any milk and soy alternatives to recommend?

11 thoughts on “Kara Coconut Milk

  1. Kara is great and seems to be available in most supermarkets now. It was on offer for just £1 at ASDA a couple of weeks ago, think the normal price is £1.38. Think it must be quite popular as the plain variety has been out of stock at ASDA and Sainsburys this week.

      1. I went to Waitrose and managed to get the last 5 on the shelf at £1 each! However, I’ve just discovered that they are 2 for £2 at Tesco and back down to £1 again at ASDA. Hope you manage to get some at the cheap price!

Leave a Reply

