REVIEW: Chocolate Rice Dream milk

As you may be aware I’m a member of the Rice Dream Dairy Free Dream Team, and submit monthly blogs to their site. Needless to say their Original Rice Dream is a mainstay in my fridge, but I haven’t really experimented much with their other flavours.

So when a carton of chocolate Rice Dream arrived on my doorstep I was pretty excited and immediately poured myself a glass to drink. The next day I tried it in my porridge, and the day after that I made hot chocolate – I became pretty obsessed!

What I love about this chocolate milk is the taste; I wouldn’t have guessed it was dairy-free as it is thick, creamy and delicious!

It’s often hard enough to find non-dairy milks in some restaurants let alone a decent milkshake, so chocolate Rice Dream definitely fulfils this need and would be great for kids. It’s delicious to drink on its own, heated up for a hot chocolate and would also be great to use to create desserts or to sweeten up porridge as I did.

While it is relatively high in sugar, with 11g per 100ml, I’d say that’s to be expected when you’re having chocolate milk. I think it’s a good choice as an occasional treat, not to be drunk all day!

It’s often said that chocolate milk is the perfect post-workout snack as it offers a blend of protein, carbohydrates and sugars that help to restore your energy levels so I’ll definitely be putting it to the test after my next run…if I have any left!

Have you tried Chocolate Rice Dream? How would you use it?

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Chocolate Rice Dream milk

      1. That’s a good idea to keep stocked up, plus it’s portion controlled so you can watch how much you’re drinking. The problem with this Rice Dream is that I could easily drink more than a glass because it’s so good!

Leave a Reply

