Food intolerance test from Know Your Body

Know Your Body Intolerance testing

Back in April I bought a deal from Wahanda offering Food Intolerance testing from Know Your Body. Their Ultimate Food Intolerance test required a small hair sample to test against 300 foods and non-foods, as well as checking for any food intolerances.

While I was a little sceptical about the process, I thought it was worth trying out as it normally costs over £200 and I do feel that I have a lot of food sensitivities.

My results arrived back this weekend and have confirmed some of my suspicions as well as flagging up some other foods I may want to try cutting out of my diet. It also showed up my nutritional deficiencies which I’ll have to address!

Food intolerance test from Know Your Body

Foods:

  • Algae
  • Guarguar Gum
  • High-Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Kiwi
  • Lactose
  • Yeast

I’ve been aware of my intolerances to lactose and yeast for a couple of years, but I’ve never really thought much about the others. A quick google search showed me that guarguar gum is similar to Xanthan gum and is often found in gluten-free products.

According to Wikipedia…

  • In baked goods, it increases dough yield, gives greater resiliency, and improves texture and shelf life; in pastry fillings, it prevents “weeping” (syneresis) of the water in the filling, keeping the pastry crust crisp.[12]
  • In dairy products, it thickens milk, yogurt, kefir, and liquid cheese products, and helps maintain homogeneity and texture of ice creams and sherbets
  • For meat, it functions as a binder.
  • In condiments, it improves the stability and appearance of salad dressings, barbecue sauces, relishes, ketchups and others.
  • It is also used in dry soups, instant oatmeal, sweet desserts, canned fish in sauce, frozen food items and animal feed.

So that basically rules out a lot of processed foods!

Non-Foods (a few from a massive list)

  • Cockroach (I would always avoid these anyway!)
  • Formaldehyde
  • House Dust
  • Mixed grass and weed pollen
  • Mixed Moulds and Candida Albicans
  • Pepsin

 I didn’t know what most of the others but basically they’re all pretty much fungi/molds – further causes of Candida problems!

Nutritional Deficiencies:

  • Antioxidants
  • Iron
  • Glutathione
  • Phosphorous
  • Vitamin E

In the pack from Know Your Body they include a nutrition guide with information on how to deal with food intolerances as well as the best foods to eat as a source of various nutrients. Using this I’m going to try and work out what foods I should try to be eating more often, the foods I should avoid and possible supplements I may need.

I’m definitely glad I bought this Wahanda deal, as I think £79 is a fairly reasonable price to pay for this type of service. However I think I would have been a little disappointed if I had bought this full price as I perhaps would have expected more information and/or support with eliminating foods and dealing with deficiencies.

Have you ever had a food intolerace test? If not, is it something you would consider?

One thought on “Know Your Body Intolerance testing

Leave a Reply

