Jessica Ennis wins the Heptathlon Gold Medal

Eating For Gold: The Diet Secrets of Team GB Heptathlete Jessica Ennis

Team GB heptathlete and gold medal winner Jessica Ennis has undoubtedly become the face of the Olympic games. With so much power, skill and strength in one tiny 5’5″ package she is an inspiration to us all and proof that hard work and determination pays off.

Jessica Ennis wins the Heptathlon Gold Medal

I’ve talked about her training regime before, but just what does Jessica Ennis eat to sustain six hours gruelling training a day, and to get those incredible abs?!

Jess tells The Guardian that the night before a competition she makes sure she’s eaten enough carbohydrates and protein to perform well, but often has to force herself to eat the morning of an event because she feels sick with nerves.

“What I eat depends on the event,” she says. “I’ll eat something quite heavy before I do the shot put because the digestion time doesn’t matter too much, but I don’t eat or drink a lot before the high jump because I want to be as light as possible.”

Although she may look like wonder woman, Jess is just like the rest of us and admits you’ll find chocolate alongside the salad in her shopping trolley, plus there are days where she doesn’t want to be disciplined. Her weakness? Chinese takeaway.

“You think: ‘I’ve trained really hard, I just want to have a Chinese.’ It’s OK to have a little relapse every now and then but I can’t have a chow mein every day or I’d be rolling round the track!” Jess says.

After breaking world records and winning gold for Team GB I’d say she more than deserves that Chinese!

3 thoughts on “Eating For Gold: The Diet Secrets of Team GB Heptathlete Jessica Ennis

Leave a Reply

