BOOK REVIEW: Harley Pasternak’s Body Reset Diet

With celebrity clients including Katy Perry, Rihanna and Ashley Tisdale, it’s fair to say that personal trainer and nutritionist Harley Pasternak knows a thing or two about how to achieve a slim and healthy body. So I was interested to see that he had released a new book – The Body Reset Diet, with a 15 day plan that is easy to follow at home.

Ten Seemingly Healthy Foods to Avoid

The Body Reset Diet is a unique weight loss plan based largely around smoothies, with three meals a day plus two low calorie nutritionally balanced snacks. Unlike many other diet plans, The Body Reset Diet doesn’t call for an energetic exercise regime, just walking 10,000 steps a day plus a short resistance training circuit as you reach the second and third phases of the plan.

Each phase of the programme lasts five days, beginning with three smoothies and two snacks in the first phase, two smoothies, one meal and a snack in the second, and one smoothie, two meals and two snacks in the third phase.

On each day you are meant to drink one green smoothie, one red and one white smoothie, with a number of filling and varied recipes for each listed in the book.

The Body Reset Diet By: Harley Pasternak

 

So, does it work?

I put the diet to the test, following religiously for the first five days. I was spurred on by the initial weight loss of 2lbs in the first phase; however I did miss the feeling of actually chewing my meals and really began to crave savoury foods.

Many of the smoothie recipes are based around fruit and greek yoghurt, with only the green smoothies containing a significant portion of vegetables. From a personal point of view, I prefer to eat a low sugar diet, and while the sugars in the smoothies are all natural I would imagine the overall daily diet is pretty high in sugar.

However, there were some smoothies in particular that I found really delicious and that I will still continue to make now – the Raspberry Lemon Drop smoothie was a particular favourite, and as it was so thick I tend to eat it from a bowl so it feels more like a dessert than dinner.

In the second and third phases I did slip up a couple of times as I just didn’t fancy any more smoothies, and the appeal of an extra little snack proved too tempting. I didn’t eat anything particularly unhealthy, but I did notice that by this stage any initial weight loss had stalled. However, there was a noticeable improvement in my measurements, particularly around my stomach and ‘muffin top’ which is my problem area.

Harley Pasternak’s Recipes for a Celebrity Body | Readers Digest

While I didn’t follow the Body Reset plan to the letter, I still managed to lose two pounds and a number of inches, so I would be interested to see what the results would have been if I’d fully followed it.

I’m not sure if The Body Reset Diet is for everyone; 30 smoothies over 15 days can be pretty hard to stomach, however for anyone looking to kick start their weight loss or shed a few pounds the healthy way before a big event I would recommend it. From the Amazon reviews it seems like many other people had some quite dramatic results, so perhaps you could have the same.

The Body Reset Diet is available to buy on Amazon now –  The Body Reset Diet: Power Your Metabolism, Blast Fat and Shed Pounds in Just 15 Days.

Leave a Reply

